Summer Fellowship under Indian Academy of Sciences

This summer I got  the opportunity to work on a 2 month long summer research project in mathematics at the Central University of Hyderabad, under Prof. Kannan, a resident faculty at the same institute. This is just the first week of the project term, but I must admit that I am already learning quite a lot of new things here.

Hyderabad as a city, I have not seen much of it yet, but atleast the parts that I did see appear to be much cleaner than Mumbai. The people much less formal, and as such in general appear to be fairly helpful in nature.

The campus of HCU is vast and fairly untouched. But is marred in many places by a political poster war that plagues most of the occupied campus. The place is huge and it takes a lot of time to go from one part of the campus to another without a means of personal vehicular transportation.

AS far as the research experience, I think I am getting a really good idea of how contemporary mathematics is done. Mathematics is rarely done on your own, but mostly through discussions and a continuous series of questions and cross questions until one arrives at a somewhat interesting result.

Uptil now I have been listening to various student seminars from IM.Sc and Ph.D students at HCU about their areas of interest under myguide’s team. It has been an interesting experience so far, and I am looking forward to doing some cool mathematics during these two months.

The main areas of interest here seem to be what are called Discrete dynamical systems, on some particularly interesting topological sets. A lot of this has to do with finding properties of what are called fixed points and periodic points of the dynamical system. The space over which these questions are being asked are highly varied and interesting in themselves, from Cellular Automata and Julia sets to the order topology on the set of Ordinal numbers to a dynamical system on an arbitrary formal language.

At present I am thoroughly enjoying my time under this project.

About Alan D

Why did the chicken cross the street? I'm not the person to ask.
This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment